Illinois Numismatic Association (ILNA)

Promoting Numismatics in Illinois Since 1959

Join ILNA Today »

Want an ILNA polo shirt? CLICK   >> HERE  For More info!


ILNA Past and Present

The idea for a state organization was formed when a group of collectors got together at the Corn Belt Coin Club Show in 1959 to discuss numismatics in general. The first organizational meeting was held at the Peoria Coin Club Show at the Hotel Pere Marquette in September of 1959. Goals of the new State organization were to further numismatics through knowledge and to promote annual three-day shows around the state by hosting clubs. Officers elected at this first meeting were: President-Ralph Winquist of Rockford, Vice President-Glenn Murphy of Armington, Treasurer-Bob Okell of Bloomington, and Secretary-Marjorie Baker of Peoria. Governors elected were: Lester Beatty, Jesse Peters, James Kaczor, Walter Loud, Connie Anderson, Charles Moler, and Kenneth Mabray. Dues were set at $1.00 per year.

From this beginning in 1959, shows were held in Peoria, Chicago, Centralia, Mattoon, Springfield, LaSalle, Joliet, and Moline in the ensuing years. Some of the shows were quite large as the hobby grew in the 70's and 80's. Learn more  »»


2022 ILNA convention postponed to 2023

ILNA will not have a convention this Fall. Instead, ILNA members will provide educational opportunities to our member clubs by providing exhibits and educational tables at your local coin shows. ILNA members can also provide speakers and education at your local coin club meetings. If you would like ILNA to attend your local coin show or club meeting to provide education and exhibits, please contact me. I hope to see you soon.

John Kent, ILNA Governor

  • Click here >> ILNA at the McHenry Coin Club Show
  • Click here >> ILNA at the Springfiled 2022 Coin Show
  • Joyce and Jim Paicz receive ILNA Ralph Winquist Lifetime achievement award. To learn more >> Click Here 
  • Elgin Coin Club 2022 Fall Coin Show - See complete information - >> HERE
  • Read Board Member John Kent's 2021 show report - >> Here
  • See Pictures from 2021 Show - >> Here
  • Check out John Kent's article about OnLine Coin Clubs! >> HERE
  • Support 2021 Commemorative Morgan and Peace Dollar proposal! »Read about it Here
  • YN Page - ILNA has added a YN page with information about YN activities. To learn more >> Click Here 
  • Bill Birk President of the Oak Forest Numismatic Society receives ILNA Ralph Winquist Lifetime achievement award. To learn more >> Click Here 
  • ILNA now offers online payment of membership fees and renewals. For more information >> Click Here

sponsor header

Chicago Coin Company
Kedzie Koins
Quad City Coins
Newman Numismatic Portal Logo and active link